5 Weeks and $93,426.75 Later

Hard to believe it’s been five weeks since my (our!) surgery! One more week and I can exercise strenuously and lift over ten pounds! Healing continues. Still tired and somewhat sore but improving.

Meanwhile I received a bill from Northwestern Memorial Hospital for $93,426.75. Now, don’t worry. I am not responsible for this bill. The “insurance carrier” listed is literally, “LIVER TRANSPLANT PROGRAM” which will in turn, bill the Scott’s insurance company. But I had to laugh at a couple of things on the bill.

The operating-recovery room charge was $57,828.00 Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m extremely grateful that they make it all nice and sterile and they have good equipment and personnel in there and all. But seriously? That is just a whole lot of money.

The best one though was “Room and Board”. Take a guess. Three nights in the hospital is $8330.00. What I really want to see though is how much of that is “room” and how much is “board.” Because there’s no way in the world I ate more than $3.50 worth of food the entire time I was in that place.

But on a more serious note seeing this bill made me incredibly thankful for the healthcare that we have, the technology available today, the skill of the doctors, and the fact that Gay is covered by good health insurance. And it did give me pause (after the shock wore off) when I thought about how much must go on in that place that I do not understand or even know about. People doing things for my benefit (like sterilizing instruments or washing linens or monitoring my blood pressure, and manufacturing equipment) that I never saw. And it made me thankful once again for how well the surgery went both for me and for Gay. We had no complications or infections. We are both doing well. Her new liver is working and growing!!!

What a miracle!

Northwestern Hospital may have done $93,426.75 worth of work to make this miracle happen on my behalf. And who knows how much more on Gay’s behalf. But I know who guided their hands and is healing our bodies.

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities–all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together.  Colossions 1:15-17, ESV

Love you, Sonya

 

2 thoughts on “5 Weeks and $93,426.75 Later

  1. I am so glad you and Gay are both doing so well…all glory to God! I have loved following this story as it unfolded and seeing your heart and Rick’s throughout this process. I so wish I were there and could have come and seen you a few weeks ago. I will continue to pray for you and Gay as the healing continues. Love you!!

  2. It would be interesting to know exactly how many people, directly and indirectly, contributed to the success of this enterprise. Hopefully, God touches all those individuals and helps them know that He is in charge and that the recipients of care are eternally grateful for the efforts of all. Such a wonder, such a miracle.

Leave a Reply

