Come See Me

It is so very good to be home. And I want to see all of you! My sweet husband (who wrote this somewhat embarrassing post) seems to believe that the throngs of well-wishers will overpower me and exhaust me. He conspired with our friend and neighbor Desiree and they hatched a plan to have a little drop in reception this Sunday for us. We will tell the story if you really want to hear it again and give updates and just visit with any of you who wish to come. And it’s a chance for us to say thank you for your love, support, and prayers.

So Sunday night, 7-9 pm at the Dentons. If you don’t know where they live you can shoot me an email and I will let you know. (Hint: it’s across the street from us!) If you have a hankering to bring something feel free but don’t feel compelled.

Today was great. I saw the kids off to school and then went back to bed! See, I really am resting!  Love you! ~Sonya

9 thoughts on “Come See Me

  1. Sonya!

    I want to give you a big hug and welcome you home–sadly I will be in Wilmington Sunday night with Kate on spring break. See you soon???

  2. WeLcOmE HoMe!!! So glad you are home and on this side of your brave and courageous journey!!!

    Hugs to you…
    Cheryl

  3. Hello again, Sonya. It is so good to hear how well you are doing. I am also glad that you are resting as that is very important. God has been so good to you and to Gay as He has been to me. God bless you.

  4. So happy you are home and feeling good. Do take it easy and keep taking those short walks every day….and this comes from experience from my liver resection! Will try to get by Sunday for a few minutes! xoxo

  5. Dear Sonya,

    I read your and Rick’s blogs, when I finally figured out what to do. I am hopelessly in need of remedial computer skills. Your story is amazing and uplifting. I always knew you were a beautiful person, but now I know you are beautiful inside and outside and beyond. You have done a brave and selfless and marvelously wonderful giving thing. I don’t know many who would have stepped up to that.

    Rick’s eloquent but down to earth thoughts remind me somewhat of Chuck Swindoll. He could write a book about your “journey”. Thank you both for sharing. We have prayed for you consistently, 4 times a day, since we found out that you were going to donate your liver to Gay. We are so glad you are home, and continue to pray for your recovery. We would like to stop by Sunday. Could you give us the address of your neighbor?

    Keep resting. Please, please call if you need help with anything. I’m very near, as you know.

    Love and prayers,
    Beverly and Scott

  6. Hi, Sonya. You do not know me, but I have been following your blog along with many members of my family. My Dad is in need of a liver, and will be going through the transplant process at Northwestern. My brother and I were both tested and found incompatible as a donor; my sister is currently in the process of being tested. We hope that God blesses our Dad with an eligible donor very soon. My sister-in-law came across your blog by chance, and we have been grateful to have your story, and Gay’s, to give us a glimpse into the days to come. Thank you for welcoming us into your lives, and best wishes for continued health and happiness as you follow the road to complete recovery. Welcome home.

    • Terri, I will pray for a good match for your dad. None of Gay’s daughters were eligible either. They all have their dad’s blood type. And three other people were evaluated before me. It’s so amazing how the anatomy has to line up. One person was not a candidate because her bile ducts were “too complicated.” That makes me laugh every time I think about it since most of us have never given a moment’s thought to how complicated our bile ducts are. But they have to make all the connections just so.

      As you go through the process I would be glad to talk if you have any questions. My email is sonyahove@me.com. Thanks so much!

  7. You were a beautiful site to see last night. So thankful for you and how God has knit you back together. Keep resting.

Leave a Reply

