Home Again, Home Again

Yesterday flew by fast. We had our last breakfast at the Residence Inn, did our final packing up, watched our last episode of The West Wing, (A friend of Suzanne’s loaned us the complete 7 season DVD set) spent time with Gay and Roger, and went to the airport. Scott and Suzanne handled my bags. We tried to get a pass for Suzanne to walk me to the gate but they wouldn’t give us one. They called a wheelchair for me instead. I felt a little silly. I mean. I can walk! But when he wheeled me to the front of the security line, took my shoes and coat and bag and put it all through for me, had me simply walk through the detector and then sit on a bench until he was finished, and then handed me back all my stuff I was sold. And of course my gate was the absolute furthest possible so I was thankful for the ride.

The flight was uneventful and Rick, Meagan, and Mark were waiting for me at the gate. Apparently RDU is more accommodating than O’Hare!

It was so wonderful to be with my family! And I even came home to a clipped and groomed dog, a clean house, beautiful flowers and cards and the most beautiful enormous basket full of gourmet snacks, lotions, notecards, restaurant gift cards, candles, etc from our wonderful Crossroads Sunday School Class. Seriously, you’ve got to see this thing! Each thing was wrapped individually. The picture won’t do it justice!

Today I slept clean through my alarm. the kids managed to get to school without my help. (Sadly I guess they are used to it by now!) I went to Chapel at Trinity where the wonderful Sam Jackson told our story through our blogs and made the gospel come alive for the Upper School students. Then some friends came over for lunch and a visit. We had yet another wonderful meal delivered and now we are about to watch the Duke game. I’m tired but fine. And so very thankful for my wonderful friends and all the love and support you have given me and my family!

Gay continues to improve daily. Here are our latest pictures from yesterday. She looks magnificent!

Rick posted here, and he now has a button where you can subscribe to his blog.

Love you All!

~Sonya

8 thoughts on “Home Again, Home Again

  1. Wow!! You two look fabulous two weeks out from a transplant. I am so happy you are doing well and are back home with your family. You have given an amazing gift and I know you know how thankful they are for your sacrificial giving. Truly amazing.

  2. I continue to be amazed by your story and humility Sonya! This whole thing just takes my breath away-you both look great! I’m so glad to hear you made it home, and that Gay did as well (or will be doing so shortly). You’ve inspired us all so much!

    Kellie

  3. Sonya, this made me tear up… imagining coming home after such a long journey. I have loved reading your updates and Rick’s. You two are such an example of love and support in marriage. Thanks for sharing it all with us!
    Love,
    Bailey

  4. Welcome home! Can’t wait to see your face and your little bitty teeny weeny body. Good grief, we’re going out for a cheeseburger. 🙂

    I had subscribed to Rick’s blog all along via RSS. Love that little system.

Leave a Reply

