Packing Up and Heading Out

Four pairs of pjs. Three pairs of stretchy comfy pants, slippers, wool socks, gloves, down jacket. What in the world do you pack for two and a half weeks in Chicago in February and recovering from surgery? The Scotts have assured me that it’s warming up there. Highs in the 30s and perhaps 40s instead of single digits!

I am so incredibly thankful for my friends here and across the country who are praying, taking care of my children, writing me sweet notes, and asking how they can help. Thank you so much for loving us and praying for us! Crossroads Church (where the Scotts and Erlandsons are members and where we attended when we lived in Libertyville) is having a prayer service for Gay and me on Sunday night. We look forward to seeing people there and again, we greatly appreciate the prayers on our behalf.

Some people have asked questions about how long the surgery will take, how long I will be in the hospital, etc. The short answers are (I think!) about three hours, and two nights if all goes perfectly. I will know more after the pre-op visit later today. I’ll let you in on anything I learn then and Rick will update on Tuesday. Please pray for Rick. He’s more nervous about this than I am.

Much love, Sonya

8 thoughts on “Packing Up and Heading Out

  1. Bless you, sister. We will pray for peace for those left on Cottonwood. Had dinner last night in Manhattan with Roger Brooks (son of F & N). He ordered liver, and naturally it was a reminder to pray for you!

  2. We are praying! We are just so amazed at this story of God’s love flowing through you. I’m praying that you feel like you are on vacation! I know, ridiculous! But may you feel peaceful, well-rested, and full of joy during that recovery. I’m praying that Rick somehow enjoys the process as well.

  3. I’m not sure my previous comment went through. We are praying for both of you. Will be close to our cell phones tomorrow. Much love, Mom & Dad

  4. You will all be in my prayers tomorrow–especially Rick, who has to wait for hours while you are in a dreamless sleep! And then for a good recovery for you and Gay.

Leave a Reply

